Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am a newbie so apologies if I am barking up the wrong tree here

I am looking to buy my 1st classic car (and 1st Alfa) and I am have settled on a spider, I have up to 5K to spend and cannot find a better looking car for this money.

However I am new to owning Classics and new to Spiders.

Can any give me some advice to what I should be looking out for so I don't buy a shed, i'm not expecting anywhere near perfect for 5K but want something I can enjoy on the odd weekend we get good weather over the summer

Thanks in advance .

·
Registered
3,531 Posts
Hi Robin - welcome to the forum and I have to say good choice: For £5k you might struggle to get a good one, however there are series 3's out there that should fit the bill if you look hard enough,
Best thing to do is to go and have a look at as many as you can including ones outside your price range so you get an idea of what you can expect, also depending where you live? there will be an owner here who will be happy to help face to face
buy the best you can afford, as you are new to classics there are many pitfalls with old Alfa's, namely rust - you need to be able to spot which are genuine motors and which are "blow overs"
Have a look at the calendar one this forum and go along to one of the meets - you will find lots of people willing to help.
How's your car DIY skills - you will need a basic knowledge and you will certainly learn a lot when you get one
Whatever you do don't go buy the first you see - get as much advice as you can especially as you will be buying close to the bottom end of the market
Good luck

·
Registered
2017 Guila 2.0 Tbi Lusso spec, 1972 S2 Spider Junior, wife drives 939 Spider, + Abarth 595
6,492 Posts