Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to get a 159, preferably a 2.4l 6spd. I am completely new to Alfa's as they don't have them in the US. I like the body style a lot though. A few questions:

1. Which years are the better/more reliable?
2. Is the 2.4 overall worth the extra money over the 1.9 or is it a minimal difference?
3. Any problems with AWD versions?

Found a real nice 2008 2.4l Q4 6-speed. Just wanted to know some info before I pulled the trigger. This car would be in Europe btw NOT US.

·
Registered
38,319 Posts
Welcome to AO!

Post 2008(?) the 159s were slightly revised and 2.4 DERVs upped from 200 to 210 BHP.

Check the plastic coolant plug issue which was revised
to metal at some point.

I'd look for a later 2.0 or 1750 gasoline if I was looking for one. Not sure you'd find those in Q4 though.

I've never heard about issues with Q4.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So 2008+ 2.4 diesel or 2008+ 1.7 gas is the good stuff? Would you do the Q4? Any issues with the all wheel drive systems, diff, transfer case....etc

Sent from my 0PJA2 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
25 Posts
Ok so I have 2.4 q4 from 2008. Propshaft bearing comes with prop shaft not separate parts. Engine guard is expensive. Diff is clonking and tyre wear on ti is massive. If you don't need q4 go for tbi. Car drives insanely well. Love it for long journeys. Mpg is between 27 and 48. Want to take a ride before you buy? If so pm me

·
Registered
241 Posts
Looking to get a 159, preferably a 2.4l 6spd. I am completely new to Alfa's as they don't have them in the US. I like the body style a lot though. A few questions:

1. Which years are the better/more reliable?
2. Is the 2.4 overall worth the extra money over the 1.9 or is it a minimal difference?
3. Any problems with AWD versions?

Found a real nice 2008 2.4l Q4 6-speed. Just wanted to know some info before I pulled the trigger. This car would be in Europe btw NOT US.