1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Basic info..

around £2-3k
<5k miles a year
Not worried about insurance ( cos of age )
ideally 25+ mpg

I really like the Alfa GT 1.9JDTM..and maybe the 159

BUT..and I'm sorry for asking...are Alfa's reliable !!

My wife will need it for work every day and we will use it 2 or 3 times a year to drive to cornwall

I am not a mechanic so any repair or maintenance work will have to be done at a garage..this means I really need to have a bit of confidence in the Alfa

Thanks

·
Registered
36,837 Posts
If you're not convinced why are you asking?
You buy with your heart because you've seen an Alfa you like and want to justify it to yourself!
The 159 is bigger than the GT and very different ....

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm asking because I thought this was a club of members who really know about Alfas and can give me advice...if its the wrong forum for that then thats not a problem, I'll have a look for other forums

·
Registered
998 Posts
In general they are more reliable than than many would think

Buy a well looked after example, look to see evidence of recent maintenance and enjoy

Would be best to test drive a few to see what suits your needs

·
Registered
36,837 Posts
The GT is sportier than the 159 and surprisingly roomy. Some of the sportiness comes with a bit of suspension bush maintenance but there are many happy owners on here. There's probably a buyers guide for it as there is for the 159.

·
Registered
998 Posts
Just to add, in that price bracket it may be wise to have a maintenance fund for those inevitable wear and tear jobs that need doing, chances are an Alfa in that price range will almost certainly need suspension work if it hasn't any recent evidence of maintenance in that area

·
Registered
36,837 Posts