Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone I am new to the forum and currently looking for an alfa brera lhd..

Can you guys point me in the correct direction, where can i find a used lhd brera preferably diesel model ??

for various reasons it suits me to have my car registered and insured in the uk,, but i would like a lhd model as i will be driving a lot in europe..

Alternatively is it possible to order a new brera in the UK but have it lhd spec delivered to a uk dealer and registered there ??

any advice much appreciated :thumbs:

N

·
0 Posts
Gah, you just missed mine. :(

Why not buy it cheap from Germany/Luxembourg/somewhere
and import it to the UK? If you need UK plates.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Was hoping to find one already registered in the uk to be honest..

Although buying elsewhere could be an option, I have no experience of buying abroad,

I was under the impression that to buy in Germany or luxembourg you would have to be registered as living there and have a postal address.. Is this the case ??
If i was to follow this option would there be tax to pay once registering the car in the uk..

How much cheaper would it be in Germany or luxembourg, i have no idea where to begin

any advice much appreciated

·
Registered
82 Posts
Hi, Back in the heady euro : pound days of 2001 (when I got 1.6:£1), I bought a RHD 147 from P & M Baak in Vorschotten in the Netherlands and imported it back into the UK myself. Came in on dutch plates, and was then registered immediately as a brand new UK car by myself at the DVLA. Really easy process, english speaking dealers, and back then a major costs saving. They'd have been just as happy to sell me an LHD car (which would have been even cheaper, as RHD was effectively viewed by AR in holland as a cost option!)

PhilipS

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5