Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
940 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right I bought my GTA about 11 weeks ago and it had a slight knock from n/s/r suspention.
as the car does very little miles i havent reeally had it as a priority but now christmas is out of the way i thought i would get it up on the ramps.

So we checked all the obvious and common causes (bushed, arms etc..) But found nothing wrong with any of it so checked out the coilover and it seems that there is a slight oil leak from shock, which we discovered after cleaning of all the matted dirt which has obviously been sticking to the oil...

Now i am not very experienced when it comes to coilovers so not sure what to do about it.
I am guessing they need serviced every once in a while and that after time rubber gaskets/seals will need replaced.
So really i am after some help as to what to do??

They are autodelta's coilovers which i recently read that they have went into liquidation which could probably cause a bigger PITA. Though am guessing they are made by someone else and just rebadged as autodelta??

Does anyone knoe of what costs are involved in refurbing a set of coilovers, wether its worth just doing the leaky one as it might just have had a defect?!? or would it be as well to replace them with KONI or KW ones??

Or even still are they supposed to leak a little over time and probably wont even be causing the knock in first place

sorry for all the questions

·
Registered
6,298 Posts
Hi Jamie, i havent got a clue how much a refurb costs, but I think MattyB had the same coilovers as you and the same thing happened to them IIRC, he ended up just replacing them with KW's.

The AD ones are rebranded Intrax as far as im aware(?), might be worth dropping them an email directly to ask about it Auto veren, schokdempers en schroefsets door Intrax Racing Suspension 'cos you'll get nowhere trying to get AD to do owt.