Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I bought myself a 147 GTA for Christmas and been using it over the holidays. I work as a heating engineer so use my van during the week, this might sound like a stupid question but will i start to get problems with my car if i only use it at weekends or should i start it up every few days?i will use it more during spring and summer but wanted to keep the miles down over the winter.
cheers
steve

·
Registered
1,178 Posts
you will be fine,just make you trickle charge the battery every couple of weeks.And run it up to temperature.And dont forget to leave the handbrake off if you can but put wheels chocs on.

·
Registered
6,834 Posts
i do exactly the same as you (job and with car :lol: ) i don't have any problems doing this and sometimes don't start/use it for 2or 3 weeks. only thing i noticed though was that i had to get a new battery as the old 1 didn't hold the charge

·
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
3,202 Posts
My GTA is also just a weekend toy, I did only about 3000-4000 km this year. No problem if its not used for 4-6 weeks. I would just disconnect the battery if it should be standing for more than 2 months.

·
Banned
2,925 Posts
Snap i brought my 156GTA for crimbo, i got my van for work but use the GTA most evenings or when i can cause i love driving it. Have fun and get to some meets and show the beastie off:thumbs:

·
Registered
1,785 Posts
I'm in the same situation we have a family car and I commute to London on the train every day so I only occasionally use the GTA. I sometimes find it's not used for weeks however it's always garaged, covered and sits on a trickle charger - however as described do run it up to temperature and give it a drive only times I won't use mine is when it's raining or there is salt on the roads. I know plenty will tick me off for having a GTA as a weekend toy - but it just makes me appreciated it more so.

·
Banned
3,532 Posts