Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone tell me if cylinder head off a 150BHP JTD will be suitable replacement for 140BHP cylibder head? I have been trying to get a replacement for 3 months and have located this one. |Original head failed as injector seals were never replaced despite a full and complete Alfa service history. Car been sat for 3 months and I want to get it back on road. Does anyone know where I can get a GOOD cylinder head with cam box otherwise. (please do not suggest Sherborne Alfa, have had 2 useless ones from them).
Thanks

·
Banned
857 Posts
I'm not an expert on the issue, but is it worth looking at Vauxhall ones that use the same engine?! Bigger choice and almost certainly cheaper.....?!

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Crikey, I had forgotten they are same engine. Thanks for that, I know what I am doing this morning.

·
Registered
970 Posts
the vauxhall engine is the 150bhp engine....otherwise it is essentialy the same engine as the 140bhp with sofrware and environmental tweaks....so I don't see why the head wouldn't fit..your best bet is to check the part numbers on ePER....I would be very careful if they differ though...

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks, why am I not thinking of these obvious things? I blame excitement of possibly having car on the road..........................

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
When I buy my next Alfa I won't bother about getting one with service record, isn't worth the paper

·
Registered
94 Posts
the vauxhall engines are not the same as fitted to 156, 147 and gt they are the same as fitted to 159 which is a different engine with paper oil filter.

·
Registered
970 Posts
the vauxhall engines are not the same as fitted to 156, 147 and gt they are the same as fitted to 159 which is a different engine with paper oil filter.