Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi fellow Alfa Bods...

my clutch has just died tonight on the way home form work.
my JTD Facelift has covered 118K and drives spot on - until now....

car was driving fine - then all of a sudden was tricky to get into gear and the clutch pedal went hard, after a few miles softened again, then no cutch atall....

cant see any leaky oil under the car atall...

Has anyone had this happen before..? was it costly..?

Thanks

·
Registered
64 Posts
Hopefully I'm allowed to post this link .... I've never used them but prices look reasonable ...

Clutch and Gearbox for Alfa 156

I'm no mechanic and COULDN'T do this myself but as a guideline .....

Add a few hours to fit at say £40/hr

145 -- Part
200 -- Labour
----
20 -- Delivery
75 -- Vat
----

Doesn't seem too bad to me

·
Identity Confirmed, Authorised Trader
7,045 Posts
as jwynn said you'll most likely need a new dual mass flywheel, pointless just doing the clutch IMO
You can't tell until you get the gearbox and clutch off, the DMF (duel mass flywheel) is not as weak as people make out, we have changed hundreds of these clutches and most of the time the flywheel is fine to go again

Ned

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
Do you mean you have no drive when in gear (heavy slipping) or you can't disengage the clutch to get into gear ?

·
Vendor
45,829 Posts
It could just be a slave cylinder you need, if you are lucky. Be careful ordering one from the link above, V6 & JTD slave cylinders are not the same internally, different bore of the cylinder inside. They look the same externally. Found this out by fitting a V6 slave to my 1.9 16v diesel, funny noise when the clutch pedal was pressed all the way down, solved by fitting the proper slave.

·
Registered
1,466 Posts