Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
3,213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so my dead spider is now up and running....just! woohoo!:)

Thank you to everyone who advised me on what to do :thumbs: as i had never changed a car tyre before i had my spider :wow:and now im still a novice dont get me wrong, but a better educated novice who has enjoyed tinkering. :cheese: i've had five cars before my spider and i havent ever lost sleep over one, and never missed driving a car so bad! the worst was when it was sunny and my poor spider all still in the drive and a soft top drove past :cry:.......sometime you dont realise what you got till its gone!

But it back! well sort off?

so new gasket seal, new battery, changed oil, cleaned ht leads, plugs and wells (blew wells as advised) checked cam belt no teeth missing etc and it now starts first time but..........................its now a smokey tractor :confused:.....................the plot thickens??????

check out the vids, now im confused? :confused:

YouTube - alfa spider noise?
YouTube - alfa spider noise smoke 1
YouTube - 100 2632

·
Registered
2,077 Posts
The smoke looks like oil burning off the pipes as they heat up, the noise sounds like top end, i hate to say this but your cambelt may have slipped, thats probably going to be a new top end at least, thats my best guess though.

·
Registered
2,077 Posts
surprised nobody else has replied so bumped it back to the top, alfa owner needs advice people.
ps i had a cambelt slip on a mazda 626, it ran thereafter but was way down on power, the battery although fully charged struggled to turn the engine when starting, wasnt as mechanically noisy as yours though as far as i can remember.
dropped valve is another possibility?
Ebay is a good place to look, at least one company on there doing rebuilt engines quite cheaply. best to get a professional opinion first though.

·
Registered
2,877 Posts
blimey, its not happy is it :(