Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Still avin problems finding an induction kit for my 146. I have a K&N panel filter on it already but (as sad is this may seem) im lookin for somethin to give my engine more of a roar. My new exhaust system sounds awesome but I want the same sound comin form up front. I can find find them for the 147's and 155's but but not a 1.6 146.

HELP.......please :)

·
Registered
1,503 Posts
Assuming you haven't already done so, take the resonator off and fit the Brazilian Pipe in it's place (straight through pipe). That will give you a louder induction sound ;)

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
applogies for my ignorance (im still learning bout engines) but whats the resonator, were is it and whats the brazilian pipe?

·
Registered
3,480 Posts
If you remove the front passenger side(N/S) wheel arch liner you will see a box infront of the air box,thats the resonator,remove it and fit a straight intake pipe instead.:)
We stock K+N ,but if you already have the panel,thats ok.

·
Registered
1,503 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Awesome thanks a lot :) Would a cone style air filter be better than a panel filter?

·
Registered
1,503 Posts
Would a cone style air filter be better than a panel filter?
Not unless it's enclosed (i.e. induction kit) otherwise it will just be sucking in hot air from the engine bay. The hotter the air the lower the performance...you need cool air going into the engine.

I've just got a K&N filter panel in mine in conjunction with the Brazillian pipe mod. If I'm honest I don't really notice any difference in performance (maybe it's 1 bhp if that?) but you do get a more noticeable induction sound. The panel filter / pipe mod option is cheaper than an induction kit and IMO it is just as good at less expense :) Don't listen to the ridiculous performance gains the induction kit manufacturers claim...it's all marketing BS!

·
Registered