Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it possible to permanently turn off the air con compressor as it keeps turning itself back on automatically, I have searched threads and cant seem to find any definitive answers to this problem.
I am currently driving for 3 hours a day and as a student I want to save as much fuel as possible!
I found a fuse for the "climate control compressor" and removed it but this didn't disable it.
does anyone have any ideas?

I am driving a 02 147 sele

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response sa155ae but this is only for models made before 2000.

·
Registered
30,252 Posts
It is for pre-2002 156, not 147.

·
Registered
96 Posts
once u set a temperature redirect the air or put the recirvulate on auto yourself.
i generally find that means until you touch the main auto button or adjust the temp it stays off.

Gorgeous car btw!

·
Registered
39 Posts
Hi!! Look inside the bonet, to the compressor, you will see two wires, with a plug in them, disconect the plug and voila, the compressor is off...but normaly if you disconet the AUTO function iside the car the compressor will not turn of by himself...

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
So David c does this mean it will work for my 147?

I will give your advice a go Spyder 84. Thank you! she was even more gorgeous before some ASBO's keyd the S*$t out of her :(

·
Registered
34 Posts
Is it possible to permanently turn off the air con compressor as it keeps turning itself back on automatically, I have searched threads and cant seem to find any definitive answers to this problem.
I am currently driving for 3 hours a day and as a student I want to save as much fuel as possible!
I found a fuse for the "climate control compressor" and removed it but this didn't disable it.
does anyone have any ideas?

I am driving a 02 147 sele