Alfa Romeo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 157 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
seeing as injector cleaners have been mentioned on here before, I decided to see (via the internet for ingredients) if I could make my own.
I work in a lab and already make my own octane booster so I figured I could make my own injector cleaner.

What I discovered was YES, I can with the stuff in my lab, but even more interesting was that a lot of the "Top Name" cleaners contain 80% to 90% Kerosene, or Paraffin to most of us. The rest is generally made up of other organic solvents, one being Acetone (nail varnish remover !!!), and ketones which smell nice.

Sorry if this is getting too techy, but it means rather than spend £5 a time on 250ml of cleaner from Halfrauds, buy a gallon of paraffin for pennies (in comparison) and add a 250ml (half a pint) dose every 3000 miles (as recommended for the cleaners). I'm gonna add some of the missing ingredients myself, but the main cleaner is the paraffin.

On a similair note, octane booster with cleaner also contains paraffin as the cleaner.

Hope this is useful and I'll let you know if I blow my car up !!!

Marlon

PS. used some of my octane booster at the RR sesh in York. Seemed to work.....

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How about aviation fuel, isnt that superhigh octane parafin?
Might work?
BTW whats the worst that could happen?
FGN

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well guys, put in my 250mL of paraffin last night and have done 130miles on the motorway today.
No BANG, pops or farts !!!
The flat spot at about 1500rpm has gone and the car ticks over and revs much more smoothly.
I'll be doing it again in a couple of months so I'll let you know waht happens then.
Oh yeah, cost me £1.49 for a litre of the stuff from my local petrol station.

Companies rely on people being scared of the stuff and not being able to discover what the ingredients are.