Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently had a new thermostat fitted to my 2002 2.0 156. I was had gone a short run to check the coolant lvl when i noticed that tere seemed to be a thin vapour escaping from the dip stick hole. So i pulled the dip stick out only to find it giving of smoke/steam and the same vapour was also coming from the dip stick hole? :eek:

Now i'm no car expert but i'm fairly sure this isn't meeant to happen.

Any ideas? knowing my luck its something big :lol:

·
Registered
8,786 Posts
it's why your car is fitted with a carter ventilation... if your car is running hotter now, the moisture from condensation in your oil evaporates more quickly now.. how cool was your car running before?

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
it's why your car is fitted with a carter ventilation... if your car is running hotter now, the moisture from condensation in your oil evaporates more quickly now.. how cool was your car running before?
The car was sitting around 50 - 70 degrees with motorway running and 115 in traffic. Currentl runs 90 motorway and 90 - 115 in taffic:thumbs:

·
Registered
5,245 Posts
isnt 115 a bit high? My 2.0 engine runs at 90 when moving and 91 in traffic

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
isnt 115 a bit high? My 2.0 engine runs at 90 when moving and 91 in traffic
I been thinking the same, but i've read a few people on here have had to give it time until it started working correctly. So this weekend i'll take her a nice long run someplace and see what's what :)

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
115 seems high, can you see the condition of your radiator? this could be causing excessive heat in the oil aswell...
I've checked the radiator for signs of corrosion and it looks ok. But if the temp continues to peak i'll get a garage to replace it, better safe than sorry.

·
Registered
5,245 Posts