Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
this is my first time posting here, still looking around the fourms looking for information. We've had a few alfas before, 90,156. And im looking at getting a Alfa 155 for my first car, but not sure as our past Alfa's were not so realiable and we know the parts are not cheap down here in Australia. Here is the a link to the car im thinking about buying---->http://www.carsales.com.au/pls/carsales/!cs_content.private_vehicle?vehicle_id=112079&current_rec=1&total_rec=1&sort_type=&make_id=35&model_id=4425&state_id=-1&search_distance=25

Was wondreing if some of the board members could point out what i should look for when i go and have a look at this car. I have yet to contact the seller about it, i noticed it was posted for $13,000AU, now its dropped to $11,000AU. I was hoping not to spend more than $8,000 so i will try and get the price down as much as possible. Do you fellas think getting a Alfa for a first car is a wise option? mind you im 18 and a bit heavy on the right foot, But considering this isnt the Q4 model i should be alright? Are there any major problems with this car i should now about as well?

Thanks for your help.
Shane.

·
Registered
13,248 Posts
The '55 is a good old ship but you have to remember they are performance motors, not Toyota Corolla's driven to church once a week by some old dear. They will be more "unreliable" as a result of being used harder.

If you start with a 4-cylinder that has been looked after, and you keep on top of all the little jobs that need doing, then it'll be okay and you'll enjoy yourself.

If you only like to peek under the bonnet once a year, or when the washer bottle needs filling up, then you'll soon have a hefty bill coming.

If the regular bits are okay (clutch, gearbox, shocks etc.) then the only thing I'd worry about is that the cam-belt and tensioner have been changed recently.