Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2006 147 Turbo diesel started coming up with VDC error, motor control system failure and generally running rough.

I thought i would have a look under the bonnet (i have no idea why as i'm not a mechanic) and noticed that this bit had come loose.
It appears to sit on 4 little black plug things which controls something. I cleaned it up and attempted to reattach it but the black bits seem to have worn and i need to get a new one.

I have showed 3 men and none of them have ever seen one before so i have no idea what it is.

Anyone able to assist?

Thanks the bit.jpg

·
Registered
71 Posts
Hello. It looks like the control arm for the swirl flaps in the intake manifold. They seem to cause no end of problems. Do a search on here for more info. There will be loads of stuff about them. Good luck.

·
Registered
2,757 Posts
Swirl flap control actuator.

This could be bad...running rough all of a sudden with this detached implies you have swallowed a flap...investigate immediately to avoid further damage. Your valves pistons and turbo are either already damaged or at risk.

Head off I'm afraid in worst case scenario.

VDC is stability control ..not to be confused with ASR. These two issues are seperate as the MCSF is usually down to engine management sensors either going faulty or sensing something outside of the normal parameters.

ABS and VDC are related but VDC errors are normally down to faulty yaw sensors rather than ABS gone bad.

If it were me step one would be read codes for VDC issues and what codes have caused the MCSF light.

Do not drive the car and get it recovered to a good indie for a look at the inlet manifold to see if the flaps are in place.

With any luck the arm has come off with the flaps still in place and you can do a de-flap and replace any faulty sensors.

Either way it needs codes read and inlet mani off for starters.