Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2006 147 JTDM 16v 137,000 miles.

For quite some time I've had a slight hesitation and then a sudden surge in power on hard acceleration. I put this down to the turbo actuator sticking and intended replacing it at some point. The problem however, was nothing much and easy to live with.

Last week I did an oil change and also decided it was time I fitted the air filter that I bought for the last service but never fitted due to it looking like a proper pain in the ass to fit - it was! I'm an ex mechanic and really don't miss the crazy design features on modern cars......................but I digress. Back to the problem - following the service I drove to Heathrow and back last Wednesday - 500 miles without a problem. Thursday I went to a nearby city and thought I felt slightly more hesitation than before but it seemed to clear. Friday, as I was pulling out of my drive the car was really sluggish, then cleared and seemed OK. After 10 miles I stopped for an appointment and when I came back and drove off the car was a nightmare. It lost all power and stuttered occassionaly - the slightest hill saw me in 3rd gear, I didn't think I would get home. Stationary the car hardly revs and misfires a little when revs are applied. There are no warning lights on at all.

A quick check showed that the turbo actuator was hardly moving - I thought that was the problem. No such luck - when I attached a pipe to the acuator and sucked on it, the actuator moved freely. I decided that the problem must lie in whatever controls the actuator and suspected I may have broken a vacuum pipe or something when I was fighting with the airbox during the filter change. I started the car with the actuator pipe disconnected and held it to my tongue whilst someone revved the car - there didn't seem to be an awful lot of suction but there was some.