Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am new to owning an Alfa and to say the least I am extremely happy with my choice of a black 147 JTD Lusso.

However the dreaded electrics issue seems to have appeared slightly earlier than what I would have hoped!! On ad hoc occasions I will start the car (probably every 12th time or so) and I am faced with ABS, ASR and EBD failure:cry:

I took it back to the garage and they put it through their computer, took all wheels off and checked the sensors, wiped the computer and gave it back. It still does it occasionally so they took it back and put a larger battery in saying it needed it to power all the systems, this worked or atleast it did for about 3 months.

Now I am out of warranty and it has come back again!!! I took it to a local garage I know who put it through his computer and it is not recording any falures.:confused:

Has anyone else had this problem or can I gleam any knowledge from anyone out there???

PS
Also on a smaller but quite annoying point my CD is the basic one that came with the car. If I am on track 7 for example when I turn the car off and come back to it after going to Tesco it starts on track 1 again?! I have never had this with a CD player before. IS this something that doesn;t annoy Italians or is it something unique to my car?

Thanks again to anyone who can save me and my wallet!

·
Registered
12,881 Posts
When I changed the thermostat on my JTD I got these errors when I started the car up, it turned out that I hadn't done up one of the connections to the battery correctly (on the 156 there is a little plastic box on top of the battery that contains 3-4 connections) ... it could just be that yours is a bit loose ...

... other than that it could be that your battery is dying ... try the connections first ...

·
Registered
5,179 Posts
Do you have an aftermarket soundsystem or alarm in the car?