Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 700 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
iv heard that there is an update for the connect nav + , im not talking maps, iv got a nice CD ordered of ebay 2005/2006 maps! heheh!

im talking firmware that fixs annoying problems like your cd not starting where u left it off!

on the fiat forum there are alot of people that reckon there is a 9.3 firmware out, im just wondering if anyone here knows about it, or could please please please provide me with it??!??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
I can't really help you with the problem, but I used Fiat Forum when I was thinking of getting a Stilo instead of my 147, and the guys on there are every bit as good as those on this site. In fact, there are a few names here that ring a bell from the Fiat Site as well.

They also seemed to have a good grasp of all things Connect related. If there is new firmware, they probably know about it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,021 Posts
Sorry, I can't help in the slightest, but if you find any useful info (especially if anyone can translate the bit about getting dvd or games consoles to display on the ConnectNav+) would you please post it up here? Ta :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
if u search the fiat forum there is a link to a german PDF that tells u how to get video's playing on the connect nav +
great if any of us can translate! lol

iv emailed navteq and alfa neither have repled yet , ill keep u posted
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
ode said:
Sorry, I can't help in the slightest, but if you find any useful info (especially if anyone can translate the bit about getting dvd or games consoles to display on the ConnectNav+) would you please post it up here? Ta :D
that sounds very intresting! dos get anoying when listening to CDs engine off then starts at the start of the song again! even more anoying as theres no fast forwed on it! is it a upgrade that as to be done by Mr.Alfa?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
aparently not rene, u can get an update disk, fiat are using version 9.8 now, i dread to think what version im on (my 147 is 5 years old bless it)
there are many fixs, including the CD starting from were u left it and even faster respone times for the sat nav and phone functions. hang on ill find a link to the fiat site
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
i very much dout mines been done as its a 52 plate, would also be very nice to be able to find locations by PostCode insted of haveing to input the full address! that link would be very usfull! thanks

edit** posted at the same time as me! thanks ill have a gander

theres a alfa garage about 2 miles away from work so ill ask down there tomorrow. google is giveing me nothink but people with problems conecting there Ipods and Fiat boys rubing my face in the fact that they can upgrade lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
870 Posts
I have downloaded the update image file, and I have put it on my website. I have not tried the update yet as I don't have a setup disc.

http://www.147gta.co.uk/connect+/index.htm

Can anyone put an image of the setup disc on here or email it to me ?

Mark
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
Troll said:
I have downloaded the update image file, and I have put it on my website. I have not tried the update yet as I don't have a setup disc.

Can anyone put an image of the setup disc on here or email it to me ?

Mark
is this the Fiat update or the attualy alfa 147 update?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
870 Posts
rene147 said:
is this the Fiat update or the attualy alfa 147 update?
Its the one from the Fiat website.. is it different for the Alfa Connect + ?

[email protected]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
to be honest im not sure but as the Fiat version uses a Fiat spash screen at start up. If it was the same as the alfa i would have fort some one would have mentioned it, but if you do it and it works ill have ago!

yes im a wimp!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
iv got a nasty feeling it will use a FIAT logo on start up! there is a few links on the fiat site again on how to create a setup disk, however this is in spanish! :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
iv got a 2005/2006 satnav disk comming, i thought that might have the firmware on it but nope it aint, im going down my local alfa dealer as they aint replying to my emails!!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,402 Posts
The Fiat connect+ system, though it has the same name and is also made by Marelli, is completely different from the Alfa system hardware wise.(different CPU, controls etc)
Software from the Fiat connect+ will NOT work on the alfa system.
The numbering of the software releases is also completely different, so there's no use whatsoever in comparing the release numbers, as there's no relation !
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
thx for letting me know so if the core of the unit is diff :cry: can the alfa nav+ system core be updated (firmeware or software) and if so how much will it cost to have this done at the dealers. the reseaon im asking is i have just got the new nav maps from navteq (2007/08) and i read somewhere that your nav+ needs the latest software upgrade .:confused:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,402 Posts
thx for letting me know so if the core of the unit is diff :cry: can the alfa nav+ system core be updated (firmeware or software) and if so how much will it cost to have this done at the dealers. the reseaon im asking is i have just got the new nav maps from navteq (2007/08) and i read somewhere that your nav+ needs the latest software upgrade .:confused:
Yes, the Alfa system can be upgraded. You can check the system software version via the service menu...
see: service menu
to cap:
- press T17 (main)
- press R2 (enter)
a menu appears, which does NOT yet contain an item for service....
- press mute (press T18 till "audio off" appears)
- press T4,5,6 ("1", "2", "3") sequentialy
- press R2 ("enter" )
an extra menu item will appear
- select in "normal" way by rotating R2 en and press (enter)

There are of course 2 items you can update. One is the maps, more or less standard. Available directly from the NavTeq webshop.
The other is the actual system software (firmware), that your Alfa dealer should have (or be able to get) on CDROM.

There are at least 2 versions of the Alfa connect+ around. For one I believe the latest firmware version is 26.16, the other one I'm not sure, see f.i.
Version info . Its numbered 4.xx ...


P.S. all firmware versions will work with the latest maps... They might just not take full advantage of them, for instance for the Trafic info.
.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
:xmas: thx for that my firmware is not the latest as it is 26.13. does anyone know how much it will cost to upgrade this at the dealers:xmas:
 
1 - 20 of 700 Posts
Top