Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

My name is Chris. I have been an Alfa owner for 3 months now and love my 156 V6. Although I am a keen DIY-er my car is due it's first visit to a dealer tomorrow as I have an intermittent problem I have been unable to solve. I have for the second time now got a check engine light and very sluggish throttle response at low RPM. Once above about 2500 rpm it drives fine. This happened a couple of weeks ago and after checking all connections then changing the MAF sensor without success, it for no apparent reason "helaed up". The check engine light went out and it drove fine for a couple of weeks.

Now the problem has come back. Does anybody know of any DIY kit for reading fault codes?

Incidently, my freinds tell me I have the best job in the world - I am a test engineer for Aston Martin. I get to travel around the world testing our cars in all enviroments. A dirty job but someone has to do it!!:lol:

·
Registered
12 Posts
welcome chris!! i"m chris too! nice car choice especially from a man who"s doing that kind of work! dont worry about the chek light. it"s not an engine problem. just chek the electrics "contacts" of the diagnotsic control car's system. happy, safe, and fast rides! y have a really nice job 4 living!!

·
Registered
42,287 Posts
Hi! Chris, don't suppose you have come across a Ray Hanley at A.M's. think he had his sgnature on a block or two. Could of just been a rumour, anyway welcome to the Alfa maze.

·
Registered
43,564 Posts
Hello and Welcome !! :)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Cheers Chris.