Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am new to Alfa in all respects.

Recently whilst looking for a new(ish) car, I was presented with a Glof, an A3 and a 147 all for the same price.

Basically, I went for the 147 because a friend recommended Alfa and I was suprised at how cheap they were (2nd hand). After a 4 minute test drive I had no idea wether it was a nice drive or not, but I loved the looks so I bought the car.

After driving a sales rep (Vauvhall) car for 3 years, I was very disappointed with the Alfa, and thought it was quite a lazy drive. That was until my friend looked at me in confusion and came out with me for a drive in the car.

After 2 mins, he pointed out my errors, I was revving very low and changing gear at 2500 - 3000 rpm. My friend recommended I revved up to 5000+ revs and drove the car a lot harder, and I instantly noticed the difference and gained a big grin from ear to ear!

I currently have a '51 reg 147 TS Lusso (3 door) 120bhp version. I am looking to add a sports exhaust and an air filter, though I must say I am very pleased with the car as it is.

I am starting to save up now either for a 147 GTA 3.2 or a SportsWagon GTA 3.2 - that will be a good few years still though so I am going to enjoy my 147 in the meantime.

Thanks for such a great source of information and maybe I will see some of you at an Alfa show in the near future.

Cheers

Matthew

·
Registered
31,304 Posts
Hi Matthew, welcome on board! :)

And don't forget... let it rev! :cool:

P.S. any piccies of your Alfa? :)

·
Registered
6,451 Posts
Welcome to AO rugglez. :)

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It is absolute standard at the moment (except the currently dodgy stereo install.)

Here are some pix though.

Mods I want are:-

Sports Exhaust
Performance air filter