Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everybody

Well I'm new to the AO forum so I'm following the code and just introducing myself. As you'll see the user name is Jengasan....don't ask, but I have this on a couple of other forums that I'm on so it saves me getting confused in my advancing years :D I also answer to Al...which is the name my mummy gave me all those centuries ago.

As you'll see I've acquired a 2003 Alfa 147 2.0 TS Selespeed and, it being an Alfa, I thought it was a pretty good idea to join the forum here. I've got a couple of other petrol powered gadgets and am on forums pertaining to them which have proved to be really helpful, a laugh and a way to 'pass it forward' so to speak....as you get to know a few tricks when you've been getting oily as long as I have.

Basically my Alfa was destined for the great race track in the sky due to several factors including a really ropey gearbox. It belonged to a mate and I had worked on it a few times for him and, well, I just couldn't live with myself it it had been cut up. It very much fell in to the 'not financially viable to repair' category. So we did a deal....I sold my range rover (didn't need it anymore) and picked up the Alfa....well, It's a bit of a laugh isn't it said I :D

To be honest, I just wanted a temporary smallish runabout .....then I drove it...I mean really drove it....oh dear. Think roller skate with a big engine....I got kinda hooked :D

So here I am, I'm calling it project ebay for now as I promised myself I wouldn't do anything daft with money and am collecting all the wee bits I need to bring the car back up to scratch from said tinternet source. I'm getting there on the 'aesthetic' bits and I suppose I'd now better get my behooky in gear and get some spannering done...especially on that gear box. No biggy for those interested by the way....knackered synchro rings on 2-3-4.