Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts
M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Don't know if you guys are aware but the road fund license hike that I thought was being put on hold came into operation today for cars registered on or after the 1st March 2001. That means that our GTA's now cost £405 to tax for a year, or £222.75 for 6 months!! Nobody that I have spoken to today was aware this was going to happen as there was no mention of it in the recent budget. I would not have known myself but I am a car salesman and I was taxing a used car for a customer at the local post office and heard various people saying that they did not have enough money on them to tax their car. I probed a little further and got a copy of the new tax rates from the post master. I for one am really furious at this, especially as we were lead to believe that this hike was put on hold. Yet another example of the bloody government ripping us off! I don't know whu I bother to work hard to try to afford the odd luxuary when they just use it as an excuse to bleed you dry.

·
Registered
30,408 Posts
:cry: oh no!!!! I also thought it was on hold :(
I have just taxed mine last month but only paid for 6 months :rolleyes: if I had known I would have got 12 months :rant:

·
Registered
3,221 Posts
Is that deffinate mate?
I was sure anything before 2006 that was at the £210 and going up to £215 rate was staying that way! :confused:

M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Is that deffinate mate?
I was sure anything before 2006 that was at the £210 and going up to £215 rate was staying that way! :confused:
I've got the paperwork from the post office in front of me mate.....the bandings now go from A to M and apply to vehicles registered on or after 1st march '2001', to take effect from today, the clucking barstewards!!! Massively unimpressed!!!

·
Registered
3,221 Posts
Just checked, i'm still at £215 for this year and so is anything over 225 CO2 if registered before 2006, so most GTAs are safe! :)