Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been the proud owner of a 2000 plate GTV 2.0L for just over a month and have to admit to liking the experience.

The only issue I have (well after the water in the footwell) is that the can bog down away from junctions (is this standard) and when accelerating it can sometimes feel a bit stepy if you understand the term.

It feels like its not pulling and then comes alive, its not a big problem and im sure my partner wouldnt even notice it, but having been around cars for awhile now you get to feel what isnt quite right.

Do you think this could just be caused just by old spark plugs as i dont know when they were last changed and im sure if they have it hasnt been that offen when you need 8...

Or

Something a bit more serious, any help would be much appreciated

Thanks

·
Registered
32 Posts
Hi,

I am no expert but I had a similar problem on my GTV V6 just after I bought it. The symptoms were similar to yours, at about 4-5000rpm it felt like I'd lifted off for a bit when I hadn't and was then a sluggish after that. I had the MAF, which sort of senses the air flow in to the engine, changed and it was like having a new car. They are over £100 for the V6 but I think cheaper for the 2.0L, plus fitting.

Hope this helps and your improvement is as good as mine was.

·
Administrator
23,070 Posts
Hi bj,

Welcome to the forum - I'm sure there will be people here to help.

If this problem is occuring at low revs (it seems from your description that it is) then it is quite common. Even after three years I can still be embarassed pulling away if I am not careful - sitting there with my foot down waiting for something to happen. Keep the revs up is the answer - all about technique really.

No harm in have a diagnostics check to put your mind at rest though.

If you are having problems above about 3k revs then it is likely to be the MAF (airflow meter) which is about £150 fitted.