Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
569 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

The passenger side dipped beam headlight hasnt worked since iv had the car. All other lights work fine.

Tested the wiring and there is current there, but when i plug the bulb in, nothing! Power seems to go also.
I have tested the output as i only have a basic tester, but could there not be enough power running through?
Why only dipped and not full beam?
And why only one side?

uhh. :confused::rolleyes:

Any ideas people?

Many thanks
Kev

·
Regional Support, For Lincolnshire - AOL
16,322 Posts
All I can think of, in general terms as I'm no expert on these cars, is that you have a very poor/corroded contact somewhere in the wiring to the Dipped Beam.

This would give the symptoms you have, apparently full volts when not under load and then dropping to virtually nothing when you switch on. This is often due to the poor contact resistance going high when it tries to carry the current.

Either start tracing the wiring back ( after ensuring that the actual contacts, including the Earth, on the Lamp Unit itself are OK ) or wait and see if anyone else has had a similar problem and knows where exactly the problematic contact/junction may be.

Just as well the nights are light !!!!

·
Registered
569 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
All contact and wiring are fine bulb end.. But looked like id have to take the wheel off to trace it back..

cheers

·
Registered
5,213 Posts
I'd be suspecting the bulb holders, they are not the best quality items and are clearly upwards of forty years old now. Can you get it lit by waggling the bulb about?.

Bad earths can cause strange problems too, try checking and remaking all those.

·
Registered
569 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yep. Tried a wiggle but nothing.
I have traced the earth back and it does look pretty corroded and gunked up.
I need to take the wheel off to get to it properly though

·
Registered
5,213 Posts