Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm having some problems with my 147 SS.

When starting from cold the clutch is very very jerky, but this stops *more or less* after a few miles. It still feels different to how the system has behaved in the past.

Last month I did get a dreaded "Selespeed Failure" but after a restart of the engine it disappeared.

In addition to this my steering has begun to feel soft and vague, and the car will sometimes pull to oneside when braking hard.

I'm not a mechanic and my dealer is a fair drive away - can anyone offer any advice? The car is in its 3rd year of Alfacare.

·
Registered
5,235 Posts
hI dd
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:<hr /><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif"> In addition to this my steering has begun to feel soft and vague, and the car will sometimes pull to oneside when braking hard.
<hr /></blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Sounds a bit like Tyre pressures, or have you checked them allready?.
cant help with the Selespeed problem, Mines a manual.

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
The Selespeed clutch thing also crept up on me after 6~9 months. It certainly wasn't doing it from new though.
I have spoken to my dealer about it and they confirm that it is normal behaviour. I tend to thing they are right as we are starting to also notice it on my wife's 4 month old 147.

G

·
Discussion Starter #4
I checked my tyre pressure - I normally do this every week and they're fine. I tend to have them a 2.5bar as I tend to do a lot of high speed driving. I wonder whether it might be the tracking or such like? The roads where I live have potholes the size of moon craters and it can be hard work avoiding them all......

·
Registered
1,322 Posts
Greetings from another Midlander, know what you mean about the roads round here :rolleyes: