Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear fellow Alfisti,

Happy to have found the Alfa Owners forum! After a thorough (read: obsessive) read through what will remain an undisclosed amount of threads on subjects ranging from the notorious M32 gearbox to issues with Bose sound systems (more on that elsewhere shortly, actually...), I feel it is only fair I offer a quick introduction.

My name's Bart, 27 years of age and currently living in the Netherlands. I work as an IT engineer, though I started my career as a copywriter and translator. Figured I might enjoy computer languages even more than the spoken ones.

I bought myself my first Alfa Romeo when I was 24. A black 159 SW with the lovely silver 19 inch multispoke Ti rims and matching mirror covers to boot. The tan leather interior was to die for, as was the state of the 1.9 JTDm 16v engine. No wait- that last bit isn't quite right; it was a pup. An absolute heap of the finest diesel stoking Italian steel. That isn't quite right either, what with it's GM influences, but we'll gloss over that.

Alfa159jtd.jpg

With little technical experience at the time, the 159 goaded me into what proved to be a steep learning curve.
- Blank off the EGR? Check! That wasn't so bad... What?
- Swirlflap delete? eeh, yeah lets figure that one out.
After a while, that too proved doable and as the miles stacked up, so did my experience. As a result, I'd proudly consider myself a rank amateur these days! Undeterred by a staggering lack of knowledge, I somehow kept the 159 JTDm running for over 100.000 km, taking up its total well into the 300.000 km range.