Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The time had come to sell my 156 v6 2.5 sp3 and yesterday I watched it being driven onto a recovery lorry and away to its new owner.

The first time I saw R421HJ0 was in 1999 when the accounts manager brought it to work one day.He had bought it from new with all the options including the tea tray spoiler for just shy of 24k.(original bill of sale).I must admit when I first saw it I loved the look and having fallen out of love with Alfa's in the 80's because of rust issues I was somewhat sceptical of how long it would last before holes started to appear.

Anyway as time went on I would see the little black bella from time to time and it always made me smile.
At the time I was a freelance events manager and as time went by we wouldn't see each other for 6 months or more (the car that is).

In February 2005 I happened to see Andrew and he asked if I was interested in buying it as he had been offered peanuts for it in a trade-in. So we struck a deal and bought it for £1500

He had serviced it on the nail and it came with everything from new!
Anyway I have loved every moment of owning it my late Father loved driving it and I brought my youngest son home from hospital in it after he was born.

It has been a loyal friend mind you it has had its moments! One in particular was when the radiator exploded 1 mile from home, luckily I managed to roll her home with family in her and park her up with steam pouring out.
Luckily I had saved the engine and a new radiator and thermostat was replaced by Neil at Njs.
He has looked after her and always commented on how good she was for her age.

My eldest Son Tom drove her last year on the Cotswold Aroc day behind me driving the Gta and he used it while he looked for a new car.He could have had it but the insurance was stupid.

I hope the new owner has as much fun with it as I have had.
I will be posting some photos' of her through my ownership.