Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I know this has been covered a lot previously. Mostly by me.

Apparently the fuse for the glow plugs is the one on the top of the battery that has a cable coming off and going down the back of the battery. I found a 60A fuse there which would be close to the 65A needed of 5 13amp plugs.

Now the longer ones are apparently 20A each. So that would need at least a 100A fuse?

Would this possibly be a way to tell whether you car originally had a set of long or short plugs without having to actually remove any? (Not to mention if the whole set was changed for an incorrect shorter length, then you would have no way of knowing anyway)

But yeah is there anyone on here that knows their car runs the longer more powerful type able to have a quick look at what fuse is on the top of their battery? If its a bigger fuse then that would be a very easy way to tell what set you should have from standard.

Picture of the fuse from another thread :) - https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/8339325908/in/photostream/

Thanks :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
363 Posts
check the slam panel inside the driver door.
The 200bhp models ran the shorter plugs, the 210bhp models the longer ones; in which case you will need BERU GN069 x 5 (or thats my understanding if it).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,054 Posts
As I gather the longer ones cured the shoddy starting behaviour? Is that right?

And if so, could I fit the longer ones to my 200bhp model? And then presumably uprate the fuse as well?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have heard it's not that easy though and that some 210 have the smaller ones but the 210 with a Q4 abreviation after had the long ones?

As for fitting the longer ones I have no idea but if anyone knows they have the long more powerful ones and could have a quick look at the fuse rating on the top of the battery that would be greatly appreciated as it would be a very simple way of telling which type you have!
 

·
Vendor
Joined
·
46,116 Posts
Easiest way is to put your chassis number into FIAT ePer parts catalogue, find the glowplug and make a note of the part number. Then you can google search or order glowplugs which cross-reference to that part number at a variety of suppliers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Easiest way is to put your chassis number into FIAT ePer parts catalogue, find the glowplug and make a note of the part number. Then you can google search or order glowplugs which cross-reference to that part number at a variety of suppliers.
That's all well and good if you have access to the ePer catalogue but the only one I can find is from 2005 and doesn't have my VIN number in it unfortunately.
 

·
Vendor
Joined
·
46,116 Posts
That's all well and good if you have access to the ePer catalogue but the only one I can find is from 2005 and doesn't have my VIN number in it unfortunately.
There are newer ones out there, they do take a bit of searching though and they're often only online during business hours. Or, do you use a local Alfa specialist? Maybe give them a call and order a set.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
There are newer ones out there, they do take a bit of searching though and they're often only online during business hours. Or, do you use a local Alfa specialist? Maybe give them a call and order a set.
Ahhh fair enough. And I don't currently. I don't think there is one close to me. There is SimplyAlfa's in Stourbridge but I don't know much about them and there are no reviews at all on google.


Do you see what I am getting at about the fuse? It'd be good to find out if there are different fuses. That way people can just pop the bonnet say "yeah I have the 60a fuse" that means I need the shorter lower amp glow plugs or "I have the 110a fuse" That means I need the longer more powerful glow plugs.
Nice and easy if they do have different fuses :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,585 Posts
i know where i take my car, they ring alfashop up with the reg and get oem parts that way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,085 Posts
I follow 159 Polish forum (alfaholicy.org) so sometimes something catches my eye. The guy I personally know and trust from the forum (e.g. he replaced bearings in my M32 gearbox in former 159JTDM) has 2.4JTDM 210HP without Q4. Although he had glow plugs changed by previous car owner 2 years earlier, he started experiencing issues with starting in sub zero C deg temperatureshe first winter he had the car, and while he exculded other things he suspected problem with glow plugs. Then he got completelty confused by catalogues - he noticed that for 159 200hp 210hp without Q4 it was shorter glow plug referenced(13A) but for Q4 longer (20A rated). To have more fun he checked for Brera with or without Q4 it was always longer glow plug advised. He also found here on AO that somebody who took out glow plugs (first replace in car history) out of 159 210HP non Q4 version, but already had bough as per catalogues, then measured 156mm long original glow plugs, where he had 151mm newly bought.

Anyway, my friend bought long Beru GN069, and all problems with sub zero start are gone since replace.

Conclusion from the thread was that there are mistakes in catalogues (maybe evern ePer? can't remember), and that all 159/Brera 2.4JTDM uses the same type of long 20A glow plugs. GN059 are for 1.9JTDM 16V, and 1.9 8V uses some other ones.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
So your saying all 2.4 should just have the longer more powerful ones? Wouldnt the tiny 60a fusee then cause an issue when you start drawing 100a?
Anyone that knows they have the longer ones fancy having a quick look at the fuse on top of battery? Would take literally 10 minutes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,085 Posts
that is what i read. from my experience with 1.9jtdm,the 13A glow plugs was drawing such current only for maybe 2sec and over a few next secobds it dropped to level of around 6-7A.I guess it may be similar with 20A glow plugs.

re fuses in general, usually fuse rating at say xxA, means more or less following schema that you can draw OK xx infinitely, you can draw say xx+20% for 15 minutes, +50% for 60sec +100% for a few seconds without blowing fuse.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
So I removed all the glow plugs from my car. All of them were part number 0250 203 001 and made by Bosch. There were a couple of other numbers. 3 of the 5 had 787 and 2 of the 5 had 882.

I tested all of them by connecting them to an multi meter now that they were out of the car and they all came back reading 1.2Ohm.

I then connected them to the battery using a set of jump leads and they all glowed at the tip perfectly.

Not really sure now what the next step is. I don't get the warning any where near as often since replacing the battery. I am wondering if something else is causing the rough start and the battery was causing the glow plug faults! :/ which is sounding more possible now that the glow plugs have been proven to work fine and the warning has pretty much gone away unless I glow them 2/3 times by turning the button off and on.


Anyways could it be the swirl flaps that are the problem? I have checked the actuation and I can see them moving perfectly open and closed when being revved. The other thing that I don't understand is why it's only from cold. Once started and revved it goes perfect and idle's perfectly :S Re-starting from warm is fine..

I'm also wondering whether all 5 have been replaced for the short lower amp plugs and that's what's throwing up the error sometimes as it can tell that the resistance is higher than it should be so thinks a plug is dead.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
701 Posts
What happened to the measurements in this other thread by you, covering the same issue:

Posted By jtaylor2005
Results :) 1 - 0.9 ohm 2 - 0.8 ohm 3 -...

Results :)

1 - 0.9 ohm
2 - 0.8 ohm
3 - 0.7 ohm
4 - 0.7 ohm
5 - 0.8 ohm

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-159-brera-andamp-946-spider/1041986-plastic-glow-plug-cables.html

You dont get the warning so often due to higher battery-voltage as this gives more current (Ohm Law, U*I = W (Voltage * Amp = Watt), this gives you less faults as the current now is closer to the low alarm-limit. On my car it takes 2 out of 5 plugs to be faulty before i get the glow-alarm.

With 5 working glowplugs & you still suffer from bad starting & periodic glow-faults due to above....I (still) think you got a winner ;-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
What happened to the measurements in this other thread by you, covering the same issue:

Posted By jtaylor2005
Results
1 - 0.9 ohm 2 - 0.8 ohm 3 -...

Results


1 - 0.9 ohm
2 - 0.8 ohm
3 - 0.7 ohm
4 - 0.7 ohm
5 - 0.8 ohm

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-159-brera-andamp-946-spider/1041986-plastic-glow-plug-cables.html

You dont get the warning so often due to higher battery-voltage as this gives more current (Ohm Law, U*I = W (Voltage * Amp = Watt), this gives you less faults as the current now is closer to the low alarm-limit. On my car it takes 2 out of 5 plugs to be faulty before i get the glow-alarm.

With 5 working glowplugs & you still suffer from bad starting & periodic glow-faults due to above....I (still) think you got a winner ;-)
I measured them whilst they were in the engine then and that was the results. Then I measured them since they have been taken out and now I'm getting the 1.1/1.2 ohm reading. Which seems a bit high for 13A.
I am confused by it all now to be honest haha.

Thanks for everyone's input though :D greatly appreciated :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
I measured them whilst they were in the engine then and that was the results. Then I measured them since they have been taken out and now I'm getting the 1.1/1.2 ohm reading. Which seems a bit high for 13A.
I am confused by it all now to be honest haha.

Thanks for everyone's input though :D greatly appreciated :)
jtaylor,

Just a quite post about Simplyalfa.
I live in Telford, so they are reasonably local for me. They did a service for me and overall their service was fine.
I've got to change the cam belt soon and was thinking of using them for that.
The quote came out half the price of the local Fiat dealer, so hopefully when they do the job it will be as good as their quote.

Can't say much more than that really, overall I've no complaints.

Regards,

Simon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
701 Posts
Used my VIN to search in a newly found 2014 edition of Eper..Unfortunately Eper is wrong on lenght/type of plugs, so dont think the dealer can help you out guys.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top