Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks.
Our home's Giulietta has an intermient problem in the backlights of the dashboard. As you can see in the image, sometimes the speedo and water temp background white lights, go off. Next day they can be back on. This is the second Giu I've seen with this issue, so I guess some lose connection somewhere. Giving a small bump in the dashboard with the had, sometimes cures, sometimes not.

Has it hapened to any of you? Do you know the most probable source of this? Maybe a bad connection in the plug or is it the actual bulbs?

Thanks a lot, and keep safe!

·
Registered
140 Posts
Hi mate
There seems to be little talk about this issue online
I had the same thing happen, some LEDs in the speed guage and sometimes the fuel gauge would cut out or flicker. Very distracting.

I am not very good at doing things like soldering or repairing microscopic electronics.
But I pulled the speedo assembly out, very easy to do by the way. And had a poke around.
Be very careful, the inside is made out of horrible brittle plastic and you will probably break it if not super careful.

In the end, I ended up getting a replacement cluster. You will need to then write the correct milage if you are honest enough to do so, and then perform a PROXI Alignment in MultiECUScan otherwise the odo will blink on the replacement unit

Here's some inside shots.
A video I found on Youtube of a person replacing their Mito Instrument Cluster LEDs, it's all pretty much the same inside of both units.
Link:
Sostituzione LED quadro su Alfa Romeo MiTo

You will see a screen like below before performing the PROXI Allignment with the new speedo plugged in

·
Registered
37,865 Posts
Surface mount components and lead free solder are a recipe for faults as things get older.

One of the reasons why modern electronic items such as TV's are now thrown away rather than being repaired when the fail.