Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 302 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so my car's gone in today to have an annoying rattle / buzzing noise from the driver's side dash sorted. It's pretty much a constant noise while the engine is running.

It's only done 420 miles so far, and has rattled since 200 miles which if I'm honest is pretty damned disappointing. Since it's been booked in it's also picked up a couple of other rattles across the dash.

Does anyone have any experiences with having rattles looked at?

If so, what's the chance of success, and how many days did they need the car for?

It's the first time I've needed anything like this done so I'm quite new to it all ... I've only ever had to get mechanical / electrical stuff sorted under warranty before.

Oh yes, and I've got plenty of videos of the offending noise, so I know I'm not going mad or over-reacting.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Where have you taken the car?
Research garage in Nuneaton. They're my closest Alfa dealer.

I could've gone to Solihull but they've had mixed reviews.

To be fair to Research they got me booked in quickly, have been really accomodating and sorted a courtesy car immediately with no fuss. So from a customer service point that's great.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
I have had faint rattles from steering wheel, door card near speaker. All sorted satisfactorily but either re-adjustment, lubrication by dealer. Rattles are not easy but trust them to sort it. Its under warranty. It always helps if you insist on speaking to the technician personally and show him exactly where the noise is and what conditions it occurs. I always make this a habit when it comes to rattles or any vague issues rather than trust the 2nd hand info to the workshop from service desk.

·
Registered
35,763 Posts
Some dealers prefer to be taken out in the car to have the noise reproduced for them. Allow some time!

·
Registered
445 Posts