Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My car does around 200km/tank I have a good engine no problems with acceleration and is quite. I'm running with no lambda sensor and my MAF was acting up but fixed itself and just worked. My driving is a bit hard but I'd say only 50% of the time. One last thing sometimes my car idles at low rpm 500-600 and is about to stalling then it gives itself some gas and is back to normal usually happens when I come to stop as soon as I press the brakes. I hope anyone can make anything out of this

·
Registered
2,783 Posts
check the brakes vacuum hose that goes just between the throtle boby and the inlet manifold.
with time is gets loose creating a vacuum leak. grad a jubilee clip and tight it nice. had the same problem recently.

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Do u think u could hook me up with a pick of the hose, first alfa and first car so I'm still learning... What does that hose have to do with high fuel consumption?

·
Registered
2,783 Posts
coilpack_480p.jpg
green arrow :D
also take a look at all the other hoses that go into the intake between the MAF and the inlet manifold, cracks in the intake rubber sleeve, basically check for other vacuum leaks arround this area...
but if your problem starts only when you hit the brakes, then this should be the only hose to look at ;)

·
Registered
2,783 Posts
What does that hose have to do with high fuel consumption?
unmetered air will go in through this leak, not enabling the ECU for the correct air/fuel mixture. on a normal situation this would create a lean mixture, but I think when things go out of control, the ECU just throws fuel in as long as the engine doesn't knock or turns off. with the lambda unpluged just turns this worst. that is where your fuel is going in...

·
Registered
2,783 Posts
btw, I think the pic posted is from a 145/146. on a 156 the hose fits on the same place, but turns to the right and not left.

·