Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to Halfrauds today and saw ther massive range of fuel additives (comma, redex etc) that claim to clear injectors, speed up your car etc
Are they worth it at all?
Are there any risks in using them?
Can they knacker your engine?

They claim that if you pour a bottle into your tank your engine will be magically like new - is this the case?

I have a 2.0 TS and it's pretty good as is, that said I'm happy to treat t to anything that could make it better! :)

·
Registered
1,434 Posts
As a student I used to squirt copious quantities of Redex into the carbs, great fun, big black plume of smoke, but when the head had to come off the piston crowns were still coated in hardened coke and the Redex had just been a rather enjoyable way of polluting the planet.

I hear that injector cleaner does make a difference though.

N

·
0 Posts
I've used injector cleaner/treatment ever since
it cured a problem on my old Mazda. ;)

·
Registered
30,126 Posts
I lob some fuel system cleaner in every 12k miles, even though I always use fuel such a V Power nee Optimax :)

·
Registered
42,287 Posts
You mean White don't you Bodger?? Tried that stuff to clean the exhaust. Worked, cleared the whole system, rear box baffles an' all!Came flyin' out no problem. Potent Stuff'

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
Injector cleaners are worth it - each 'new' old car I've had (currently '98 gtv TS like yours) has benefited a fair bit. I usually run the tank nearly dry, put in a bottle then fill to 50/70 full and blast around for a few days. It does clear the injection system out. I also use V-power every 4 tanks or so to keep things clean, and I do notice a difference with it.

·
Registered
42,287 Posts