Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to all, I'm a relative newbie here with a very frustrating problem, concerning a big red Alfa 146 sitting dead outside my house.
It decided to go on permanent holiday the day before we were going on ours to Scotland from here in Grimsby, which caused great consternation in the house especially from her indoors, and relieved me of 190 quid for a hire car!
Anyway, I'm back now and will yet again venture under the bonnet.
Car was running fine, with an occasional flicker of the red injector light for a couple of weeks. Then with no warning dead as a doornail. Code light goes out ok, as do all other lights, then the red injector light appears and stays there laughing at me.
Fuel pump is priming, and I have checked and changed all relays around the battery.
I am now thinking Crank Sensor, which seems to sit close to the starter motor plugged into the top of the bell housing (3 Wires).
Any ideas would be very much appreciated, cheers.:confused:

·
Registered
5,699 Posts
I take it the engine is turning over ok,
i.e. battery is cranking ok...

I think the crank sensor does give the same symptoms as you suggest,

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply,yes, cranking over fine, have removed battery and tray, and can see the sensor, which seems to be screwed directly into the bell housing. The missus can get her hand in ok, but mine is too big. There doesn't seem to be a smaller bolt holding it in place though, as mentioned on various other posts.

·
Banned
9,721 Posts