Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have switched over to my new winter wheels. This is my first time with winter tyres and everything seems to be going well. Tyres are definitely more grippy when the temperature hovers around zero. There is a bit of road noise from them, but I tend to drive with the stereo on and so it hasn't really bothered me.

·
Registered
13,233 Posts
Have you got them on the front and back? I was thinking of maybe getting a pair for the front axle on the '45.. though I may spend my moolah on a gas conversion instead.. :D

Ralf S.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, All four changed.

I have them on a different set of alloys I picked up second-hand, so that I can easily change them back again when the weather starts to warm up.

I'm not sure having two summer and two winter tyres would be safe?
I maybe wrong though.

My brother-in-law just got his 407 coupe gas converted, seems to be pretty cheap on fuel, and still has plenty of grunt.

·
Regional Support, For South Scotland - AOSS
3,507 Posts
Last week, I switched my 19 inchers for a set of second-hand 17 inch multispokes (£150 from my dealer) which I'd had fitted with some part-worn (6mm tread) Michelin Primacy Alpin tyres obtained on German eBay for £250 including next-day DHL delivery.

Haven't seen the traction control light so much as blink even once this week, no matter how hooliganistic I am with the loud pedal - those tyres just dig in and thrust you forward, :D. I'm enjoying the softer ride over rough surfaces (and there are plenty of those on the roads around here, :mad:) that the 50 profiles provide, and the road noise is so much less compared to the Vredstein Sessantas (which were in turn much quieter than the original Pirellis) that I had on the 19s that I'm now aware of some slight wind 'rustle' from around the door mirrors that I've never heard before.