Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13,688 Posts
Must have been hitting his limiter :p

·
Registered
2017 Guila 2.0 Tbi Lusso spec, 1972 S2 Spider Junior, wife drives 939 Spider, + Abarth 595
6,535 Posts
Must have been hitting his limiter :p
Nah! A BMW will go as fast as the owner says, heard it in a bar.:vs_closedeyes:

Reactions: MalcQV

·
Registered
4,772 Posts
Not sure how a Mercedes C200 was caught doing 155mph on the M1 :paranoid:

·
Vendor
46,342 Posts
Is it just me, or does 100mph on a motorway not really seem the huge, massive speed that it used to be?

·
Registered
13,688 Posts
Is it just me, or does 100mph on a motorway not really seem the huge, massive speed that it used to be?
As a young driver I recall making the "Magic Ton" in my MKIII 1.6 Tina. To achieve it I was going down hill on the M62 :D.
Today you have to be careful in most cars as doing a ton is a bit too easy if you are not paying some attention.

·
Vendor
46,342 Posts
As a young driver I recall making the "Magic Ton" in my MKIII 1.6 Tina. To achieve it I was going down hill on the M62 :D.
Today you have to be careful in most cars as doing a ton is a bit too easy if you are not paying some attention.
I think given how much better cars are, motorway speed limits should be revised. 80mph is fine in typical conditions. 100mph outside of peak hours would be acceptable, say 9pm - 6am. Give that we have "smart motorways" now, there's no reason why some motorways cannot have different speed limits to others, or a higher limit could be trialled on just a single motorway.

Reactions: MalcQV

·
Registered
3,769 Posts
I think given how much better cars are, motorway speed limits should be revised. 80mph is fine in typical conditions. 100mph outside of peak hours would be acceptable, say 9pm - 6am. Give that we have "smart motorways" now, there's no reason why some motorways cannot have different speed limits to others, or a higher limit could be trialled on just a single motorway.