Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Found this post on ARBB - at first I thought the OP was having a laugh but then did a bit of digging and found a lot of discussion about it - glues are commonly used in modern car construction - I mean the metal to metal bit - and have been used in aeroplane wings for many years so what about on old Alfa's, I'm not an engineer but I know some here are so would be interested to know their opinions?

"For replacement of floor panels, entirely or sections, has anyone used, or considered, using adhesive instead of welding? There are some pretty amazing permanent adhesives available for automotive and marine applications, so resistant to any number of environmental factors. Any thoughts from the group?"

·
Registered
36 Posts
I have been a windscreen fitter on & off for the last 25 years. Most of the older cars I have owned have had various metal plates & panels bonded to them using the glue I use for glass. My most recent Transit van has a plate glued to the rear floor now. Non structural areas I don't have a problem with but don't think the mot inspector would like to see outer sills & the like bonbed on.

·
Registered
36 Posts
There are specific primers to go with the glue I use. Can be used on painted or bare metal but nothing is going to stick 2 pieces of metal together if 1 or both are rusty.

·
Registered
630 Posts
Modern cars designed to use adhesive, with chassis strength designed around this. Whereas old cars I'm not sure I'd be as happy to have bonding in crash prone areas.

Happy to see proof though.

Although there then kicks in the technique vs origenalty. If you owned a GTA junior, would you crash repair with welding, or the origenal riveting ????

·
Registered
25,673 Posts
Modern cars designed to use adhesive, with chassis strength designed around this. Whereas old cars I'm not sure I'd be as happy to have bonding in crash prone areas.

Happy to see proof though.