Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
767 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So it's been 6 months since my last oil change, and i checked it on the weekend and it's nearing the min mark.

I don't want to pay someone to do the change, so I was going to do it myself. But i've NEVER done an oil change before :eek:

So is it easy enough to do it myself?

Any instructions? :confused:

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
So it's been 6 months since my last oil change, and i checked it on the weekend and it's nearing the min mark.

I don't want to pay someone to do the change, so I was going to do it myself. But i've NEVER done an oil change before :eek:

So is it easy enough to do it myself?

Any instructions? :confused:

muli
Just because the oil is on the min mark doesn’t mean the oil needs changing, you need to keep it topped up to the max at all times.

Anyhow, if it is due a change:
You’ll need: a new filter, 5 litres of decent oil (semi or fully synthetic), a new sump plug washer (copper, from your dealer) an 8mm allen key (or perhaps a torx ftting, depends how old your car is), a filter wrench (or strong hands) loads of rags, an old washing up bowl. Use barrier cream on your hands as old oil is carcinogenic.

1. Take the car for a blast, warm the oil up thoroughly.
2. Park the car so that you can reach the sump-plug, it’s a nut at the back of the sump, under the engine. You may need ramps or at least some bits of wood to park on. Do not attempt to crawl under the car using a jack to hold it up.
3. Take off the engine oil filler cap. (prevents a vacuum effect)
4. Undo the sump plug and let the oil drain out into your washing up bowl (ask the Mrs first) You’ll need your rags at this point!
5. While it drains, stick the kettle on and make a brew