Alfa Romeo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
IMPORTANT: Please read the whole thread as they are some important changes that might have to be done to the proxy settings. I will do a correct edit of this first post by the end of next week!!!



For those of you who want to install the dual USB hub needed for the activation of Android Auto/Apple Carplay


1. Check the software version of your ETM (aka the Nav system) to be at least 056 and up. 056 is update for older Nav systems up to 2018... usually the MY2018 start with 059. I have somewhere the 056 software so if someone needs it, send me a pm so I can upload it somewhere.


2. Install the new dual usb hub. EPER part number 0156143958 for the USA market it is a different number if I am not mistaken.


3. Well you have to dismantle your center tunnel (arm rest)...


4. Move both front seats at maximum front position


5. Seat in back seat and pull away carefully the plastic around the rear air vents.


6. Using your tools unscrew the 3 bolts that hold the arm rest on the top of the glove box. (see the pic)



7. Now unscrew the 4 bolts that hold the air tubes going to the rear air vents as you need to move them a little in order to get your hand in the tight place under the glove box. (see the pic)



8. Now with the arm rest removed you need to go to the front seat and pull the plastic cover around the center glove box on which you have also the parking brake button. So be careful not to pull like crazy and snap the cable for the P brake. Pull from the front near P brake button, as in the rear you will see that they are no clips...DO NOT pull from the back as you will brake the cover. You have to do it from the front and then remove the connection for the P brake and then carefully remove slide it from the back... Look at the back and you will see.


9. Now carefully disconnect the led light for the glove box...don't look for a bulb type, use a fine flat screw driver and remove it from the box.


10. Remove the air tube to the box


11. Get your special tool as you need to get it below the box in the center of the box. USE fine gloves to protect your hands as you might scratch them... First blood to your Stelvio can happen here and hopefully the only.


12. Undo the two "bolts" that are in the center of the bottom in the box...no the two middle ones as they hold the antenna for keyless go. (see few pics)


13. Take your time or use someone with smaller hands...it is very tight there...push down the rear air vent tubes to get more space.


14. Once you manage to remove the two screws...go have a drink and feel like a winner...you can skip that part :)


15. Pull from the top...the box is now being hold by 4 clips...into the four corners...you will be able to see them...but careful with the plastic box.


16. Now you see the cables for the USB hub...disconnect them.


17. Change the single USB with the double one...check if it works for charging



18. Put everything back together


19. At this point you will be thinking of not putting the two screws under the box...BUT do them


20. When everything is put together you need to go to someone having the factory diagnostics called Witech. Basically you might need to go to the dealer (good to talk to them before as they might refuse to do the job for unknown reason). Hopefully soon MES or ALFAOBD will be able to active the AA/Carplay The time needed for the dealer is like 10mins.



21. So while at the dealer connect Witech go to ETM menu and in misc. tab there is a function called Android Auto/Carplay offline activation. Press it after about 10sec it will say complete.



22. Shut down the car and take away the key as the car needs to get into standby mode...the ETM needs to reboot.


23. Turn your Stelvio and connect your Android or Iphone...for Android you need to have Android Auto installed on your phone!!! Connected your phone via BT and also via GOOD USB cable. bad USB cable will prevent it from working...price of the cable has nothing to do with the quality. I bought 10 euro cable and it doesn't work... a 2 euro cable works perfectly. BEST is to use original cable.


24. You can check if Android Auto was activated without connecting it to a phone by going in the option menu in your ETM...press option and scroll down till you see Android Auto, it is the last one



25. Enjoy your Android Auto and Apple Carplay


26. Have a safe trip:angel:

for pictures go to:

installation/activation of DUAL USB hub for AA/AppleCarplay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
167 Posts
What is so special about the hub, that it is required? Does it function as a hardware licence of sorts? It can't be for extra functionality, you can still only have one phone connected at any time. is the USB faster (USB3 instead of USB2) maybe?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,997 Posts
What is so special about the hub, that it is required? Does it function as a hardware licence of sorts? It can't be for extra functionality, you can still only have one phone connected at any time. is the USB faster (USB3 instead of USB2) maybe?
Just a guess, but maybe it provides the Apple authenticator chip ? .....

<quote>
Apple will have all of its CarPlay hardware go through the MFi program, which means the product will require an authentication chip that aims to prevent unofficial products from offering the CarPlay feature.
</quote>

see also point 4 :
http://howcarplayworks.blogspot.com/2016/08/apple-carplay-technical-secret.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@kgb, haven't you forgotten about need of getting Sales Code of AA/CP assigned to your VIN by the dealer first?

No need of that for the AA/Carplay.

Also in the last version of the FCA instructions of how to activate AA there is no mention of the sales codes.

Anyways when I have the time I will hopefully see how to add the sales codes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: niegowic

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
No need of that for the AA/Carplay.

Also in the last version of the FCA instructions of how to activate AA there is no mention of the sales codes.

Anyways when I have the time I will hopefully see how to add the sales codes.
Great job kgb :) Well I think the only risk not putting sales code is that it may get removed with proxy alignment in ASO which they could do when they are installing updates. Eaither way big thanks for sharing :) Hope we will see that option soon in MES :)


BTW. how much did the part cost you (0156143958)? I asked and seems it was something like 250 euro in Poland.. they are checking exact price now as there is a new replacement part id.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
They are two codes for the dual hub. This is the new one...maybe there is even a newer version.

it won't get removed with proxy as it is option in ETM.

Price with discount was around 150 euro if I am not mistaken, as I did order a few things...
 
  • Like
Reactions: niegowic

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
They are two codes for the dual hub. This is the new one...maybe there is even a newer version.

it won't get removed with proxy as it is option in ETM.

Price with discount was around 150 euro if I am not mistaken, as I did order a few things...
Ok thanks for quick response and explanation :)

Wysłane z mojego SM-N950F przy użyciu Tapatalka
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
1. Check the software version of your ETM (aka the Nav system) to be at least 056 and up. 056 is update for older Nav systems up to 2018... usually the MY2018 start with 059. I have somewhere the 056 software so if someone needs it, send me a pm so I can upload it somewhere.
Hi
Could you send me a link to the 056 updste and instrucion?
Thx in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
hi...I have old software 055 on my 2017 model...
how can I update to 056?
is from Spain...but 056 is only for USA?

here we can update to 056 to have android auto?
thanks

Enviado desde mi SM-G935F mediante Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
update to the latest possible version for now it is 085.

MES has some new features about the USB hub... will try to activite it on a Stelvio that refuses to start the AA.... maybe next week.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Do you know if it also works for ETM activation? So far it was required to first activate AA/ACP after changing hub in WiTech

Wysłane z mojego SM-N950F przy użyciu Tapatalka
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,249 Posts
IMPORTANT! before attemtping activation with Witech, most of cars (for sure these from 2017 originally with old type of radio) may need a few proxi bytes updated, otherwise you may lock radio forever in terms of AA/ACP activation (A few guys did in US and EU). There is detailed thread on giuliaforums about updating 2017 cars with new radio and activation of AA/ACP.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
where is the link to the giulia forum.
 
  • Like
Reactions: niegowic

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,249 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
I had this work carried out today and it hasn't worked. I managed to get the original USB hub part number 156143958 from my local dealer in the UK. I then took the car and the USB hub to another dealer who was happy to do the work. They completed the work did the Witec bit and it doesn't work. No CarPlay.

My cars is a 2018 pre carplay Stelvio. It originally had a head unit running software version .51, the .51 headhunt was replaced under warranty with a new one running 085. Gutted Ive spent best side of 300+ and it doesn't work.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
I had this work carried out today and it hasn't worked. I managed to get the original USB hub part number 156143958 from my local dealer in the UK. I then took the car and the USB hub to another dealer who was happy to do the work. They completed the work did the Witec bit and it doesn't work. No CarPlay.

My cars is a 2018 pre carplay Stelvio. It originally had a head unit running software version .51, the .51 headhunt was replaced under warranty with a new one running 085. Gutted Ive spent best side of 300+ and it doesn't work.
I should say one thing I have noticed after i got back home. On the new 2 port USB in the centre arm rest, one of the ports carries smart phone integration, the other just charges usb??? As you look at the picture above, the port on the left does smart phone integration, the port on the right just charges the phone.
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
Top