Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just shocking how many times you buy a motor only to discover hidden problems:lol:

I got my GTV 2.5 weeks ago... So im still learning what all iv bought it seems haha...

Tonight i was changing my teardrops over to my new teledials, so i started to go around the wheels loosening the studs, so i went to the boot so find the socket for taking out the locking nuts...

......Not there... or anywhere

Off to halfords to buy a locking nut removal kit (only place open during this procedure)..

Brought home what seemed like would do the job.. then had to to turn a couple of mm of the socket so it would even fit in the alloys hole... Only to find it wouldnt grip or do the job either...

So i resorted to drilled the nuts @ 4mm>8mm>12.5mm until the heads popped out..

Hardest set of wheels iv ever had to change!! (the threads also where clearly never oiled, and one of the studs was a "wobbly" and was shoved in a hole that was nearly leaving me having to helicoil it!).... My point is.. why can people not spend 30 quid on studs if it needs studs, put some sort of lube in to stop ceasing, keep their locking nut socket if they use the locking nuts & instead of ramming a stud into a hole... clean up the threads...

Ahhh... Rant over guys:lol: Teledials on & new studs ordered:rolleyes:

Any other stories out there of simple solutions left to develope into more work than necessary? haha

·
Registered
2,575 Posts
Studs? Nuts?

It's supposed to simply have bolts - 45mm shank (to the taper), 19mm head, M12x1.25... :)

-Alex

·
Registered
366 Posts
Just shocking how many times you buy a motor only to discover hidden problems:lol:

I got my GTV 2.5 weeks ago... So im still learning what all iv bought it seems haha...