Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Been a member on here for a while but mainly a 'lurker' I'm afraid :(
My crank sensor has given up the ghost, usual problems, enigine cuts out when it gets hot, won't start unless its cooled down then starts the process all over again until last night, now it won't start at all.
I don't mind getting my hands dirty but I'm no expert mechanic, managed to do my clutch slave cylinder, new rear calipers and discs and a few other odds n sods.I was just wondering, does anyone have any pictures of where the sensor is? I have been told it's a bit of a b**ch to get at but would rather try myself first before I started asking a garage to do it, a little matter of being laid off last month :rant:
Many thanks for your help.

Regards,

Paul

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
I dont have a picture of it. . . but i will have a look.

I rought location for you, on the back of the block, gearbox side, about halfway up the block. You get to it from underneath the car and yes, a bit difficult to get to!

I have a crank sensor from my old QV sat on my work bench somewhere, i presume you already have a replacement?

·
Registered
9,489 Posts
They aren't that hard to do..........last one I did took about 15 - 20 minutes....but I got a lot of scratches on my arm, so I'd recommend you take a bit longer and remove the throttle body to give you more room. You will find the sensor lurking just under the starter. Once the securing bolt is out (normally an allen screw) you may need to twist the sensor to get it moving - theoretically they just pull out, but they can be tight.....

·
Registered
37 Posts
I was about to post the same question tonight, although mine never fails to start, just stalls when I come to a stop after the engine is at temp.

Pics would be handy if anyone has them.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Many thanks for the speedy replies guys, it's much appreciated :D