Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1975 GTJunior Lusso
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Just wanted to check something with you as I'm relatively new to Alfa ownership. I have a 1300 GT Junior and wanted to know what the correct oil pressure should be? It seems to hover around 20, which disturbed me at first as the dial goes up to 80, so it looks like it's really low! :cool: and then drops slightly on idle. I'm used to a classic mini which is closer to 50-60 psi.

I don't have any warning lights and the car runs well, but that guage just freaks me out!

·
Registered
352 Posts
Alfa oil pressure gauges (and more particularly the electrical sender), are notorious. First (and cheapest) thing to do is to check the sender. If you search on here, or on Alfa BB, you'll find out how to do it.
I'm on my fourth 105 series, and my first two cars (both 2 litre), showed around 70psi cold at 2000 rpm or over, and still 45 psi at idle. Hot figures were still 65psi and 35-ish.
My third car (still have it), is a 2 litre Ti Super Replica, and, being a mild competition motor, I wanted accurate oil pressure figures, so I fitted a hydraulic gauge, with a pipe from the block to the gauge, can't go wrong then.
With a newly rebuilt engine, it has always shown 65 psi cold, 60psi hot at 2000rpm +, and nothing less than 40psi at hot idle.
My newest car is a 47000 mile from new 2 litre Spider Veloce. It still has the original electrical sender and original gauge, and shows figures exactly the same as the above.
A 1300, 1600, and 1750 engine should be the same, as they all utilise the same oil pump.