Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, just wondering how often the coolant should be changed for the V6 engine GTVs? and what's the procedure (novice here)?
Thanks

·
Registered
3,043 Posts
Blue antifreeze should be changed every 3 years and red every 5 years. On my Twinnie (same radiator I think) I removed the blanking plug on the rear left of the radiator draining as much coolant as possible. I refilled with clean water, ran til the fans kicked in and allowed to cool then repeated a couple more times. Work out how much undiluted antifreeze you need and add that topping up with de-ionised water. Check after a day or so and top up if needed.

·
Registered
166 Posts
You'll never drain the full 10+ litres needed in one go, so Nellytheroc's method is the only way. If you don't have the blanking plate, remove the bottom rad hose and be prepared to get soaked:) You'll need to remove the air filter undertray guard to do this on the nearside front. FYI, fans kicking in means that the thermostat should be open on the engine to allow coolant to move round the system. Best to replace the thermostat (£40 ish from Totally Alfa) if it hasn't been done in 10 years or so, especially on a rarer engine like the 3.2 V6.... Check your hoses, and make sure the clamps haven't cut into them (mine had and I had a slight leak). A relatively simple job really, just a shame there's not an engine block plug to allow you to fully drain the system (unless someone knows otherwise?)

·
Registered
673 Posts
I think there are some bleed screws to drain the coolant from the heads
A relatively simple job really, just a shame there's not an engine block plug to allow you to fully drain the system (unless someone knows otherwise?)
I think there are some hex drain screws for the heads on the V6. I dont know where either though.

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
Blue coolant was never in any of this generation of Alfas.