Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am a 20 year old student (nearly 21) who has been driving a '00 1.0 litre Yaris VVTi for the past 2.5 years and am considering upgrading to a 1.6 litre 156 in ideally Sportivo trim. My uncle had an early model 2.0 litre TS years back and I have always been quite taken by the model. Seeing as my Yaris is low mileage (57k miles) and presently has a long NCT, I'm thinking about capitalising on its desirability on the used market and upgrading to something more my taste. I reckon I will get the guts of two grand for it and just over half of the proceeds should bag me a very nice 156 with all the belts done.

One of the main concerns I have is fuel economy. I cover around 100 miles per week in the Yaris and it costs me around 20-25 quid. I have heard to expect no more than 35 mpg from the 1.6 litre engine in the 156 and I feel this may be too high for a person of my financial means. This is in addition to our unfair road tax system which will add a further 300 euro in additional costs annually over what I am currently driving.

I have been constantly going on and off the idea of going in the above direction and have thought something like a Punto Sporting or an MG ZR 105 would be a more realistic ownership proposition many times. I am a passionate enthusiast and have been itching for ages to get something a bit more distinctive than my trusty Yaris (which has been a great car to be fair and is a lovely steer). What do people reckon?

·
Registered
4,623 Posts
Get the 156, although you are a bit optimistic on the mpg side. In Dublin traffic I'm getting between 25-30 mpg.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Get the 156, although you are a bit optimistic on the mpg side. In Dublin traffic I'm getting between 25-30 mpg.
Jaysus, that bad?

On the other hand, a 145 like this may fit the bill: Alfa Romeo 145 T-Spark for sale in Dublin : €799 - DoneDeal.ie