Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
41,387 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do you guys recommend for a complete beginner, barely even washed my old car, really hope to start looking after my 159.

Im not bothered about a full on show roam finish and am nervous about using waxes and clays and stuff because i have no experience what so ever and am worried i will mess somthing up.

What would be a good basic level to start with, i was looking at maybe a gift set type thing from autoglym, what would be the best basics to start off with?

·
Registered
413 Posts
Clay bars are worth doing, just give the car a good wash first, and take your time doing it properly, using plenty of the supplied lubricant. The finish afterwards is amazing, smooth as glass.

·
Registered
41,387 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
after reading some of the stuff on here and on autoglym's website they use alot of micro fibre cloths, how many would i need, one for each job or can it be the same ones?

·
Registered
117 Posts
I use Meguiars products. Their ultimate wash & wax shampoo is particularly good and the results last for quite a while.

·
Registered
2,133 Posts
You need lots of MF cloths. Definitely don't mix them for different jobs. Buy a pack of 10 they are as cheap as chips.

·
Registered
41,387 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Cheers, some are quite expensive, like the autoglym ones but I guess have a couple if those for finishing and then some cheaper ones for the dirtier jobs.

Another question, I've seen people saying that after claying they wash again, now is that a full soap wash or just a rinse?

·
Registered
2,133 Posts
You don't need to buy the very expensive ones.

I don't wash after claying.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Don't forget the two bucket method and a good wash mit. Do not use a sponge
Also the first time, I'd wash it with fairy liquid....strips any of the old protection etc that was put down.
From then on out, I'd use a good ph neutral shampoo.