Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

Im a photographer and have been commissioned to shoot an abandoned race track near Lyon for the UK'S oldest motorsport magazine.

The shoot is on Tuesday and Wednesday and the last car that won at the track before it was closed many years ago was ... .. .. .. an ALFA!

If any member is near Lyon on these days and has a classic Alfa - and is up for a few hours shooting please let me know at:

[email protected]

ta very much :thumbs:

:thumbs:

·
Registered
3,812 Posts
Are you talking Lyon-Parilly? I thought the last alfa win there was in 1924, with an Alfa P2, driven by Campari who overtook the great Ascari? If this is the case surely you have to photograph a period Alfa from the 1920's, not just some 60's classic alfa....that will be a hard one to find!

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi

Not sure what track it is but last car to win was an Alfa according to journalist and I believe him as he has been writing about motorsport for over 40 years and the magazine has been devoted to motorsport since 1924.

Thanks for the link will post there - and indeed - a period Alfa would be magic.

·
Registered
3,812 Posts
Wish you the best of luck. I think it must be Parilly, the last race won there was the Alfa P2 in '24...then it closed (rather like Brooklands) and Magny Cours and Reims took over the F1 scene in France...I guess it is Motor Sport you will be shooting for? Wonderful! Look forward to seeing the article-let us know how you get on.
The last Alfa Romeo to win a Grand Prix was on July 1st 1951 at Reims, with Luigi Fagioli in an Alfa 159A. A year earlier the great Fangio took the title in the legendary Alfa 158.