Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Pioneer GPS head unit (AVIC F900BT) in my Alfa Mito, but am annoyed at one aspect of it; the way it powers on/off.

Most modern cars use Canbus, which means the factory radios can be turned on after the car is stopped, or turned off when the car is still running. Aftermarket units replace this "soft" on/off with an external power relay triggered by Canbus. Which means that if your ignition has no ACC position, like my MiTo, there is no way to do anything with the radio/GPS unless the motor is running.


So, does anyone know of an in-car GPS/radio/thingy that gets around this? Like one with a Canbus interface on the unit? (instead of in a little external box)


I really don't want to resort to an ugly little extra switch somewhere just so I can turn it on/off independantly :confused:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,520 Posts
Not ideal, but obviously you can just switch on the ignition and use your radio..... With the modern motor management systems, it doesn't do your car any harm to just switch on the ignition without starting....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
102 Posts
I had exactly the same annoyance in the Brera when I had a F900bt (now have F920bt, after a smash and grab).

The "ACC" position does exist in the Mito, it just isn't being read properly by the canbus adapter...

I did have the Pioneer steering control / canbus adapter fitted and the unit switched itself off whenever the car was not live (i.e. ignition on or engine running)

Now I use the Connects2 canbus adapter for steering controls (which includes speed pulse etc for the navigation), and the headunit behaves as I would expect:
Engine on = radio on
Engine off, "ignition" on = radio on
Engine off, "ignition" off, key in = radio on (equivalent to ACC)
Key out = radio off

Try this:
Connects 2,Car Audio integration specialists
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks - I hadn't realised that "key in" is ACC.


I bought these bits to fit the GPS:

1 x Connects2 CT23AR04 - Alfa Romeo Mito 2008> Double Din Facia Plates (CT23AR04) = £32.95
1 x Alfa Romeo Mito Steering Wheel Stalk Control Interface Adaptor Lead (DS-AR004) = £39.99
Stereo Patch Lead Pioneer + £5.00
which looks like it is not the Connects2 Canbus decoder. So, will I spend another £40:

Connects 2 CTSAR004 Alfa Romeo Mito 2008> Steering Wheel Interface Lead

just for this feature? Decisions, decisions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
102 Posts
Very confusing... the DynamicSounds website seems to list two adapters for the same purpose (one Connects2 and one own-brand). If you bought it from them, give them a call (they're local to me and have helped me out a couple of times) they're a good bunch, and should swap out the connectors.

It may be the Connects2 adapter decodes the Canbus power signal differently - it seems to work well for me.

I just noticed you're in NSW - are you getting these shipped?!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I guess I can call/email them, but since I purchased about a year ago, won't hold my breath waiting for great service :(


They shipped straight to me in Australia - the internet has created an amazing world for consumers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Folks, I'm having an issue similar to you but with a new pioneer AVH-Z5050BT... Also on a 2009 mito with the Bosch headunit. Did the connects2 solve your problems?

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,520 Posts
Folks, I'm having an issue similar to you but with a new pioneer AVH-Z5050BT... Also on a 2009 mito with the Bosch headunit. Did the connects2 solve your problems?

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
just a remark, but last post before yours in this thread was 2011 .... :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Folks, I'm having an issue similar to you but with a new pioneer AVH-Z5050BT... Also on a 2009 mito with the Bosch headunit. Did the connects2 solve your problems?

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
No.

I decided to not spend the money, and then about 2 years ago, my AVIC started losing its mind (not powering on for a few minutes, et c).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
No.

I decided to not spend the money, and then about 2 years ago, my AVIC started losing its mind (not powering on for a few minutes, et c).
Well, I just did, hopefully it works... Just trying to spruce the old dame up...

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top