Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As per thread title. Having a few problems which I think are from lack of boost pressure and I want to check for leaks etc but I am a complete novice and looking at the engine, I don't even know where the turbo is/looks like so really don't know where to check. I just had a fiddle with the big black pipe that the maf is fitted too and it feels a bit loose but I can't see where but it seems to be loose below where I can see if that makes sense. It's not hanging off by any means but it defiantly has movement. The problem is it seems to loose boost too easy and when I'm driving it hard and changing gear, it looses boost too quickly and lunges forward until the boost builds up again and then pulls again. I am also going to check the egr today and clean the map sensor again. Thanks.
Any help greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
896 Posts
When you clean the map or correct name tmap temperature manifold air pressure . look inside the black plastic basket your see a brass coloured sensor there is a hole make sure that's clear too. Hu û
As for pipes there is basically two sides to the turbo thin vacuum rubber tubes that actuate the turbo /operate vanes in the variable vane turbo/ and the bigger tubes that the air goes through/ you can get leaks in any of these . check all joints some folk have replaced the **** clamps with jubilee clips.

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the tips. Hopefully will be much better later. I have the restricting gasket to fit to egr also.so fingers crossed it's one of these. Is the hole you mention in the tmap sensor actually on the brass sensor?

·
Registered
896 Posts
Thanks for the tips. Hopefully will be much better later. I have the restricting gasket to fit to egr also.so fingers crossed it's one of these. Is the hole you mention in the tmap sensor actually on the brass sensor?