Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone replaced their cambelt on a GT JTDm without using the special tools I only ask as im doing mine next weekend along with water pump ..I did my 156 1.8 tspark using only tipex to mark the location of cams and crank but the JTDm looks a little more complicated and im not prepared to pay £500 if i can do it myself...I already have the parts (£130) and i am a mechanic albeit a hgv one so i have all the relevant hand tools and is the crankshaft bolt left or right hand thread ? All help/suggestions appreciated :confused:

·
Registered
5,266 Posts
Well you did your 1.8 incorrectly as a quick search on here will soon tell you! Its simply not possible to time it properly by using tipex. Firstly you need to rotate the exhaust pulley on the cam shaft to tension the belt, so that throws your marks out right away, and secondly the tipex method (even if it worked) relies on the engine being timed correctly in the first place (and if the previous owner used tipex then there is every chance that its not).
I've no experience of the diesel engines but i thought they were more straight forward than the petrols.

·
Registered
387 Posts
from my own experience do not change it without cum locking tools at least,
I have ruined my 1.8 engine after I replaced belt without tools

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks rockhopper
but i have no reason to lie, the tipex method worked perfectly as i did 14000 miles after it was replaced ...not if you dont undo the cam pulley and take the tension up on the tensioner, turn the engine half a dozen times and recheck..everything still in its rightful place ..anyway im asking about the diesel not the 1.8

·
Registered
25 Posts
You can change the belt without any locking tools - did mine a few months ago.