Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, subject says it all really. I have the 2.0 16v engine with the cam variator. If Honda's VTEC/VTI can make such massive performance out of a tiny engine, is there any way to make Alfa's version do the same, i.e. get impressive performance? Are there any 3rd party "performance" variators out there that could be swapped in?

I'm new to the Twinspark engine (used to flat four 33 engines) so I've got no idea what's possible and what's not, yet.

Thanks...

·
Registered
36 Posts
Mixsynth said:
Hi, subject says it all really. I have the 2.0 16v engine with the cam variator. If Honda's VTEC/VTI can make such massive performance out of a tiny engine, is there any way to make Alfa's version do the same, i.e. get impressive performance? Are there any 3rd party "performance" variators out there that could be swapped in?

I'm new to the Twinspark engine (used to flat four 33 engines) so I've got no idea what's possible and what's not, yet.

Thanks...
my understanding is that the variator only alters the cam timing to allow the use of a lumpy cam and still give a good bottom end. It effectively creates the wrong cam timing at low revs and corrects it further up. So this means that the top end power is limited by the grind of camshaft rather than the variator, giving the situation that at high RPM, the cam timing is the same as it should be if there was no variator.

·
Registered
1,679 Posts
There is a large difference in the Alfa variator method, which changes the postion of the cam relative to the vernier, to Honda's VTEC which moves the cam accross to a different set of profiles.

If you can make gains on your Alfa they won't be Honda like and could be very expensive for what you get.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Nigel S said: