Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon all,

Complete newbie here but I have done a bit of lurking around before deciding to post.

I am planning on buying a 156 2.5 v6 in the next few weeks and I would like the opinions of the people who own them on exactly what to look for and what to go for.

I definitely want a v6, i do not want to go back to driving a 4 pot unless it's something really special. It gets murky when all the different specs and options available come up - I have seen lots of different levels of trim available (lusso, veloce, s2, s3) and I am unsure as to what exactly they are - which is best? Are there any options which are considered essential? I would like leather, climate control and the bose stereo if possible but I would rather have a straight car at the expense of such.

When it comes to looking at possible cars, what things should I look for which are specific to the 156? I am pretty mechanically capable and know my way around cars but I am not very experienced when it comes to Alfas.
Do these cars suffer more from age or mileage? Is it preferable to have a lower mileage or younger age?

I'm sure there's lots I've missed here so I'll add to it later, need to nip out for the afternoon.

Thanks in advance for your help!

James.

·
Registered
62 Posts
good choice fella...
bought mine in january and havent stopped smiling. i guess as long as it looks straight and tidy it should be good body wise, but i would walk away from anything that doesnt have a full history. read the threads on here first about what to look for and all will say check the history. good luck in your search.

·
Registered
3,801 Posts
Here's my 1st suggestion.